2017: The First Year – 1

It’s the end of the world as I know it.

My academic career is over (at least for a while). After 20 years, from pre-K through grad school, my academic pursuits have come to an end. That’s called a page-turner. The story of my life is starting a big, new chapter. And here’s what I hope to do over the next year: write a blog everyday.

You might be thinking right now, it’s January 2nd #resolutionfail. You’d be right, except that I’m aiming to write 5 times per week; so, not quite everyday. I’ll take the weekends off (a little leeway is good, right?).

What I want to do is document my first year out of school, out of seminary; my first year in ‘the real world’. No doubt I will be learning a lot, experiencing new things, and banging my head against a few walls.

If you’ve seen any of my prior posts, you’ll notice that some of them are a bit long. That’s not what I’m going for here. These will be much shorter, bite-sized pieces. I’ll be posting quick thoughts, stories, and musings on anything and everything I come across in the next year.

Hopefully, what I write will inform you, inspire you, and invite you to think hard, love deep, and live well. With any luck there will be times when you laugh with me (or, at me), cry with me, agree with me, disagree with me, love me and hate me.

Tonight, I leave you with a song, one that’s been on my mind the last couple days (after listening to it for the first time in what seems like years). It’s called “Surely We Can Change” by David Crowder: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcqgiKYeuKk. This is going to be a year of changes for me. Hopefully, that will bring some meaningful change somewhere for someone.

Leave a Reply

