My Victory – 34

On the youth retreat over the weekend we introduced a new song to the kids, “My Victory” by Crowder. It’s a powerful reminder of Christ’s work on the cross and the redemption it accomplished for all those who believe. Gladly, it was well received, and no doubt we will continue to use it in worship.

The lyrics of the chorus and bridge work together especially well. For while the chorus recalls the scene of Christ’s passion, the bridge calls us to “Behold the Lamb of God who takes away our sin”. This sort of presentation and exhortation within the song makes it a uniquely convicting declaration and contemplation of Christian truth.

Take a listen. I’ve included the lyrics below.

Verse 1
You came for criminals and every pharisee
You came for hypocrites even one like me
You carried sin and shame the guilt of every man
The weight of all I’ve done nailed into Your hands
Chorus
Oh Your love bled for me
Oh Your blood in crimson streams
Oh Your death is hell’s defeat
A cross meant to kill is my victory
Verse 2
Oh Your amazing grace I’ve seen and tasted it
It’s running through my veins I can’t escape its grip
In You my soul is safe You cover every thing
Bridge
Behold the Lamb of God
Who takes away our sin
Who takes away our sin
The holy Lamb of God
Makes us alive again
Makes us alive again
Leave a Reply

