Back at Cairn – 45

As I enjoyed my Crunchy BBQ Ranch burrito from California Tortilla, relaxing in the driver’s seat of my car, people watching in the parking lot, listening to the radio, without any burden of assignments or stress of classes, I thought, “This is nice.”

Yesterday was the first time I had been back to Cairn University since graduating last December. I was happy to be able to catch up with some former professors and take in a lecture from Dr. Liam Goligher, as well as utilize the library for some sermon preparation. All in all, it was a good trip back to campus, but it was a bit strange being now an alumni and no longer a student.

Whenever I reflect on my six and half years at Cairn, I realize what a tremendous gift God gave me in the education I received. I owe Cairn a debt that cannot be paid back in cash or coin (though I do owe them in that way too), but only in service to the Lord Jesus by putting to use the intellectual and spiritual formation I gained.

I’d like to think they, by God’s grace, accomplished their mission for me, namely, to educate students to serve Christ in the church, society, and the world as biblically minded, well-educated, and professionally competent men and women of character. If you or someone you know is looking for a university, check them out (https://cairn.edu/). I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

